Nitin Menon only Indian umpire, record six women in ICC match-officials’ list for women’s T20 World Cup | Cricket News

Nitin Menon only Indian umpire, record six women in ICC match-officials' list for women's T20 World Cup | Cricket News

DUBAI: Nitin Menon is the lone Indian within the ICC’s record of umpires for the upcoming Ladies’s T20 World Cup in Australia, the place an unprecedented six ladies can be within the match officers crew for the match.

As introduced earlier, India’s GS Lakshmi will turn into the primary girl match referee at a worldwide ICC occasion. Lauren Agenbag, Kim Cotton, Claire Polosak, Sue Redfern and Jacqueline Williams are the ladies umpires named for the eight-team competitors.

Williams will stand together with Shaun George within the high-profile match opener between Australia and India on February 21, quickly after turning into the primary girl to officiate as a 3rd umpire in a males’s worldwide cricket match, the ICC mentioned in a launch on Wednesday.

Polosak, who turned the primary feminine umpire to officiate in a males’s ODI final yr, will pair with Menon within the sport between former champions West Indies and first-timers Thailand on February 22.

The fixture will even have Lakshmi officiate two months after turning into the primary feminine match referee in a males’s ODI.

“That is the most important praise of girls match officers at a single occasion, and the progress now we have made is heartening…it’s due to their skillset and laborious work that they’ve graduated to the highest stage,” mentioned Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Supervisor, Umpires and Referees.

Emirates ICC Elite Panel Match Referee Chris Broad would be the senior-most match official on the occasion with Steve Bernard additionally a match referee. The opposite umpires on the match can be Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Ahsan Raza, Langton Rusere and Alex Wharf.

The appointments for the semi-finals can be introduced on the finish of the league stage and people for the ultimate can be finalised after the semi-finals.

Match Officers on the ICC Ladies’s T20 World Cup 2020

Match Referees: Steve Bernard, Chris Broad, GS Lakshmi

Umpires: Lauren Agenbag, Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Kim Cotton, Shaun George, Nitin Menon, Claire Polosak, Ahsan Raza, Sue Redfern, Langton Rusere, Alex Wharf, Jacqueline Williams.

Source link

Leave a Reply