Who are the 21 Tories who defeated Boris Johnson over Brexit? | Politics News

house of commons

A bunch of 21 Tory MPs joined a cross-party group attempting to delay Brexit to cease no deal subsequent month.

They helped inflict defeat on Boris Johnson in his first main vote since taking on at Quantity 10, overriding a Commons rule that claims solely the federal government can suggest new legal guidelines.

The group will use their likelihood tomorrow to attempt to get the prime minister to ask Brussels to delay the Brexit deadline from 31 October to 31 January 2020 – a date the EU would in the end be answerable for.

Listed here are the Conservative MPs who voted in opposition to orders and are anticipated to be expelled from the get together and banned from standing for it on the subsequent election:

Guto Bebb

Richard Benyon

Steve Brine

Alistair Burt

Greg Clark

Ken Clarke

David Gauke

Justine Greening

Dominic Grieve

Sam Gyimah

Philip Hammond

Stephen Hammond

Richard Harrington

Margot James

Sir Oliver Letwin

Anne Milton

Caroline Nokes

Antoinette Sandbach

Sir Nicholas Soames

Rory Stewart

Ed Vaizey

Two Labour MPs additionally defied orders and voted with the federal government:

Kate Hoey

John Mann

Source link

Leave a Reply